Change Day – Third session to Forth

So this is getting late and I want to finish the story of the summer of 2011…

The end of Third session saw me taking our French campers back to Logan Airport for their departing flight.  Due to some other logistical issues I was also accompanied by another senior camper who was at camp for his first summer.  He has proven to be a fantastic addition to the Camp Lawrence family, and one I hope to see back again not just next year, but well into the future as a staff member.  Now I may be biased… When arranging his departure from camp, and due to the special nature of his transportation, I was invited to his home for a family dinner by his mother.  Again, when his mother picked him up from the carpark of Logan Airport, she invited us for dinner (I had another staff member with me).  This time, I said I’d love to join them for dinner.  What an honour, I thought, to be invited to share an evening with the family, just reunited after two weeks separated.  Not only that, but I also got to hear first-hand the impact that camp had had on this camper.  It was an extraordinary night for me, and one of my favorites in my camping career.  Now dinner was fantastic – steak tips, salmon, and fresh salad, but more important, the feeling of being part of a family, and so readily welcomed into their home, made this change day the most special yet.

If they happen to read this, I want to extend my greatest of thanks to them, and ensure they know just how much I appreciate their hospitality.  The food was fantastic, and the company even better.

Thank you.

Leave a comment