Not long now…

Sunrise at Camp Lawrence

Sunrise at Boating Beach

It all started 6 long years ago…  Bored with my post-University office job, I decided it was time for a change, and what better way to do this than follow my long-time dream of an American Summer Camp.  After investigating the options, I chose IEP’s Summer Camp USA program (highest salary, lower costs, better service and reputation, etc…).

I first applied to the program in November 2004, and told my boss I was leaving the following April for the USA. Not an easy thing to do considering I didn’t have anything to go to…  After an agonising few months, I got the call that made my day – I was going to YMCA Camp Lawrence as a general counsellor.  The first thing I did was get online and find their website.  Boy was I surprised to find I was going to the best camp in the world – despite what anyone else says, mine is truly the best!  After all – my camp is on an island on Lake Winnipesaukee… I couldn’t think of a better way to spend the NZ winter…

I have now spent three summers at Camp Lawrence since my first trip in 2005, and can think of nowhere I would rather be…

Now, as I pack up my Auckland flat, and deal with my flatmate who is fast becoming an emotional mess, I realise how much that one decision made 6 years ago has changed my life.  I swore I would never live in Auckland…

Two months ago, I began packing my bags for camp, and while this may sounds a little excessive, it meant I was able to start putting aside all the things I like to take with me which you can’t get in the USA such as perky nanas.  I now have one bag, slightly over the 23kg bag limit, and am now working on packing up the life I leave behind each June.

As it starts to get colder, I am ready to depart for North America.  This year I am travelling on 7th June – Queens Birthday, which will allow me some time at camp before all the staff and then campers arrive.

I invite you to join me at camp this year through this blog, and encourage others at camps across the USA to post comments about your own experiences as well.

One Response to “Not long now…”

  1. Have a great time

Leave a comment